Subscribe Anywhere

Election Results 2019

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

According to final unofficial results from the Greene County Board of Elections, released on Tuesday, Nov. 5—

Village Council

Local voters returned Lisa Kreeger and Marianne MacQueen to Village Council, according to unofficial final results from the Greene County Board of Elections.

The incumbents were the top two highest vote-getters among candidates whose vote totals have been released.

However, the winner of the third seat is currently unclear, as votes for write-in candidates have not yet been counted. Those figures will not be available until the final official results are released by the elections board on Tuesday, Nov. 19. The tally as of Wednesday, Nov. 5, is:

  • Lisa Kreeger — 853 (24.70%)
  • Marianne MacQueen — 789 (22.84%)
  • Laura Curliss — 627 (18.15%)
  • James Johnson — 568 (16.44%)
  • Dean Pallotta (write-in) — Not yet counted

The total number of votes cast on or before election day and reported was 3,454, with 2,837 cast for the four petition-certified candidates and 617 for a write-in candidate. It is not possible to determine yet how many of the 617 were valid votes for Pallotta, the certified write-in candidate.
In addition, the unofficial final results do not include provisional ballots cast at the polls or absentee ballots that have yet to be received. Absentee ballots were to have been postmarked by the day before election day.

After all votes have been counted, the two candidates with the most votes will win four-year terms; the other elected candidate will serve for two years. New members take their seats on Jan. 1, 2020. 

Issue 13: Village Charter amendments

Yellow Springs voters narrowly rejected a measure to make several amendments to the Village Charter. In the end, 699 voted against the measure (52.4%) while 635 voted yes (47.6%).

The amendments would have granted voting rights in Yellow Springs elections to local 16- and 17-year olds and noncitizens and extended the mayor’s term from two to four years.

Council members have previously said they inadvertently combined the three issues into one ballot measure and that if the measure failed, they would place the amendments as separate measures on a future ballot.

Issue 9: Greene County Parks and Trails levy

By a wide margin, voters in Greene County renewed a five-year, 0.9 mill property tax levy for the operation, management and maintenance of county parks and trails. The final tally was 18,056 voting in favor and 7,166 voting against (72–28%).

Other local races

Yellow Springs Mayor Pam Conine was re-elected to her position with 1,041 votes. She ran unopposed.

In the uncontested race for Yellow Springs School Board, Sylvia Ellison and TJ Turner were re-elected with 1,009 and 935 votes, respectively.

In other uncontested races, Miami Township Trustee Chris Mucher was re-elected with 1,213 votes and Miami Township Fiscal Officer was re-elected with 1,232 votes.

This article will be updated with official results and precinct breakdowns when available.

For updated unofficial election results from the Greene County Board of Elections, visit this link.


No comments yet for this article.

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :