Submit your business in the 2023-24 Yellow Springs Community Direcory, aka the Redbook Submit your business in the 2023-24 Yellow Springs Community Direcory, aka the Redbook Image Map

Nov. 10, 2011 Bulldog sports round-up

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Athletes receive MBC praise

The district finalist boys soccer team yielded six Metro Buckeye Conference award-winning athletes this year. Named to the MBC’s first team were senior midfielder Jacob Trumbull, junior forward Roland Newsome and freshman defender Jared Scarfpin. The MBC coaches selected sophomore defender Eric Lawhorn, senior defender Jake Fugate and sophomore midfielder Grant Reigelsperger for the conference’s second team.

Female cross-country runners Lois Miller and Alex Brown, both juniors, were honored as part of the MBC’s first team. Volleyball player Maya Hardman made the MBC first team after a season of leaderboard-topping aces and blocks while teammate Emma Peifer was added to the conference’s second team. The MBC coaches selected girls soccer midfielder Keturah Fulton, a junior, to its first team and Brianna Ayers and Paloma Wiggins to its second team.

First-year varsity volleyball coach Lindsay Kerns was given the Metro Buckeye Conference’s volleyball coach of the year award after leading the Bulldogs from a losing record last year to a .500 finish this season.

Award honors sportsmanship

Each season YSHS coaches select one player who demonstrates sportsmanship and exceptional qualities as a student-athlete. At last week’s fall sports awards banquet, Bulldog awards went to sophomore golfer Rachele Orme, harriers Miller and Zach McHugh, volleyball player Angela Allen, girls soccer player Wiggins and boys soccer player Levi Perry.



No comments yet for this article.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :