Submit your thoughts as a graduating senior


More candidates heat up races

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

With two weeks to go before the filing deadline of Aug. 7, a variety of Yellow Springs community members have expressed interest in running for either Village Council, Yellow Springs Board of Education or the Miami Township Trustees. Eight villagers have taken out petitions from the Greene County Board of Elections for the three open seats on Council, six have done so for three seats on school board and six have taken out petitions for the two open seats on Township Trustees.

In the race for Village Council seats, Chrissy Cruz, Patty Purdin and Tawn Singh have joined Brian Housh, Marianne MacQueen and Dan Reyes as challengers to incumbents Rick Walkey and Karen Wintrow. Council President Judith Hempfling, who will have completed two four-year terms in November, has said she won’t run again.

For school board, Evan Scott, Dennis Peer, Ara Beal and Steve Conn are entering the race along with incumbents Aida Merhemic and Angela Wright. Board Vice President Benji Maruyama has decided to not run again.

Dale Amstutz, John Eastman, Steve McFarland, Zo Van Eaton Meister John Struewing will join incumbent Mark Crockett in the race for Township Trustees. Longtime Trustee Lamar Spracklen has said he will not run again.

See the July 25 News for more about each candidate.


No comments yet for this article.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :