Submit your thoughts as a graduating senior

Stokes, Housh and Kreeger are the winners in the Nov. 7 race for Village Council.

Election results in the village

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Yellow Springs has many new faces on its governing bodies and a new female face in the office of mayor following the Nov. 7 election.

Retired teacher Pam Conine swept the mayor’s race, receiving 1,032 votes to 276 votes for attorney Laura Curliss, 274 for retired WPAFB analyst Gerald Simms and 45 for retired pharmacist Cathy Price.

In Village Council, newcomer Kevin Stokes was the highest vote-getter, receiving 1,083 votes. Next up was incumbent Brian Housh, who received 970, followed by Lisa Kreeger with 786. Stokes and Housh will receive four-year terms in Council, and Kreeger will have a two-year term. Other vote-getters were David Turner, with 627, Taki Manolakos with 533 and Chrissy Cruz with 342.

On the Yellow Springs Board of Education, incumbents Aida Merhemic and Steve Conn easily retained their seats, winning another four-year term each. Merhemic won with 1,218 votes, followed by Conn with 1,103. Newcomer Steve McQueen won the board’s third open seat, receiving 1,098 votes. Challenger Dawn Johnson received 943 votes.

And on Miami Township Trustees, challenger Don Hollister came in first with 1,180 votes, followed by incumbent Mark Crockett with 1,161. Both men will serve four-year terms. Incumbent Lamar Spracklen lost his seat, receiving 899 votes.

See the Nov. 9 Yellow Springs News for a more detailed report on election results.


No comments yet for this article.

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :