Subscribe Anywhere

The fall Bulldog sports season’s most valuable players, among many other athletes, were honored at the Yellow Springs High School fall sports award ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 5. First row (left to right): Briana Ayers (seventh grade volleyball); Maryah Martin (eighth grade volleyball); Paloma Wiggins (McKinney cross country); Maiya Hodge (cheerleading); Hanna Kumbusky (cross country); second row: Crystal Reedy (volleyball); Asa Casenhiser (soccer); Raphael Allen (football); Jacob GunderKline (cross country); Ryder Comstock (soccer).

YSHS Fall Sports Awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Yellow Springs High School and McKinney School athletes were recognized by the school on Wednesday, Nov. 5, for their participation and performance in the fall sports program. The awards ceremony honored members of the football team, the boys and girls soccer teams, the volleyball team and the boys and girls cross country teams.


Members of the YSHS football team were recognized by the Northwest Central Conference (NWCC). Elected to the league’s first team was Raphael Allen as defensive back. On the league’s second team were Joe Fugate as kicker and tight end, and Allen as running back. Quarterback Ryan Newsome, offensive linesman Stephen Scott and defensive back Devon Freeman all received honorable mention by the league.

Within the team, Allen won this year’s Bulldog award.

Boys soccer

The YSHS boys soccer team received a glut of awards from within as well as outside the school, as many of its members were recognized throughout the region and the state. Kevin Sikes-Gilbert raked in top honors as his team’s most valuable all-around player, the Metro Buckeye Conference (MBC) 2008 player of the year, Dayton division III Miami Valley player of the year, the Miami Valley Scholastic Soccer Coaches’ Association’s (MVSSCA) player of the year (for Dayton’s east sectional), the Springfield News-Sun’s all-area player of the year, and a pick for the All-Ohio All-Stars’ first team.

The rest of the Bulldogs pulled in an impressive amount of hardware, too. At home, most valuable offensive players were Alexis Onfroy and Zeke Hardman, while for defense it was Brock GunderKline. The team’s impact award went to Jake Trumbull, and the Bulldog award to Asa Casenhiser.

In the MBC, AJ Wagner won the league’s sportsmanship award, while Coach Jim Hardman was recognized as the coach of the year. Elected to the league’s first team were Brock GunderKline, Zeke Hardman, Onfroy and Sikes-Gilbert; and on the league’s second team were Casenhiser, Jake GunderKline and Jake Trumbull.

Receiving special recognition by the MVSSCA were both Sikes-Gilbert and Onfroy, elected to the section’s first team. On the section’s second team were Brock GunderKline and Zeke Hardman, and on the third team was Asa Casenhiser.

Wagner again received the Kettering Medical Center’s sportsmanship award, while Jim Hardman was also elected as the section’s coach of the year.

Sikes-Gilbert and Onfroy were also chosen at the regional level as part of the Dayton division III all-district first team, and the two were both named to the News-Sun’s all-area All-Stars first team. Brock GunderKline was named to the News-Sun’s second team.

Sikes-Gilbert, Brock GunderKline, Casenhiser and Zeke Hardman represented Yellow Springs in the annual Miami Valley Senior All-Stars game on Nov. 9, battling to a 0–0 tie against the West Senior All-Stars.

Girls soccer

Also winning recognition from outside of Yellow Springs were several members of the YSHS girls soccer team. Amelia Shaw received the MBC’s sportsmanship award, while Ryder Comstock was nominated as the league’s athlete of the year, as well as her YSHS team’s most valuable player.

Comstock and Brenda Jones made the league’s first team, while Katie Nickels, Ashanta Robinson and Rachel Trumbull were elected to the league’s second team. Coach MacKenzie Reynolds also won the league’s coach of the year award.


For the volleyball team, Yellow Springs athlete Taylor Ennis won the MBC’s sportsmanship award. Player Crystal Reedy was selected as the team’s most valuable player and was the winner of the Bulldog award.

Girls cross country

Allie Berry, Hannah Kumbusky and Reini Brickson all made the MBC’s first team for girls cross country. Kumbusky won her team’s most valuable player award.

Boys cross country

For the boys harriers, Jake GunderKline was recognized by his team as the most valuable runner, by the MBC as runner of the year and as a member of the league’s first team, along with Brock GunderKline, Alexis Onfroy and Anthony Pettiford. Nerak Patterson, Gabe Amrhein and Zach McHugh were nominated to the league’s second team, while Coach Vince Peters won the league’s coach of the year award.

Jacob GunderKline also made second team all-region, and first team all-district, along with Brock GunderKline and Alexis Onfroy.


Maiya Hodge won the Bulldog award for cheerleading.

Topics: , , , , , ,

No comments yet for this article.

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :