Submit your thoughts as a graduating senior

From left, YS News' Matt Minde, Lauren Heaton, Megan Bachman, Kathryn HItchcock, Robert Hasek and Diane Chiddister proudly display their plaque for General Excellence at the ONA convention.

VIDEO: YS News wins 10 awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

At the annual convention of the Ohio Newspaper Association the Yellow Springs News won awards in 10 categories, including for general excellence — the top prize among all weekly papers in its circulation category.

The News took first place in features, original columns,special supplement and Web site, second in editorial and in-depth reporting and third for news coverage and photography.

The awards were given on Thursday at the Ohio Newspaper Association’s annual convention in Columbus as part of the Osman C. Hooper Newspaper Show. This year 61 weeklies competed by circulation category. Yellow Springs was among 16 papers in Division D with circulation between 1,098 and 2,885.

First Place – General Excellence

First Place – Feature Story, for “Curating Legacy of American Writer,” by Lauren Heaton

First Place – Original Column, for “Perry League T-Ball,” by Jimmy Chesire

First Place – Web site, for

First Place – Special Supplement, for the 2009-10 Guide to Yellow Springs: “Young Hands: Arts Town as a Magnet. ”

First Place – Advertising Design

Second Place – Editorial, for “Be proactive with diversity” by Diane Chiddister

Second Place – In-depth Reporting, for the series “African Americans in Yellow Springs

Third Place – News Coverage

Third Place – Photography, for “Jump for Joy” by Megan Bachman

Thanks to our subscribers, readers and advertisers for making the News one of the top weekly papers in the state.


No comments yet for this article.

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :