Subscribe Anywhere
Yellow Springs High School

Contingent on the weather is the graduates' car parade — a tradition that began with the graduating class of 2020. If the weather holds, the parade will depart from the high school at 8 p.m. and will flow through the village. (News archive photo by Matt Minde)

Celebrate YSHS Class of ’22

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Update, Thursday, May 26: Due to rainy conditions, the graduation car parade has been canceled. Commencement will continue as planned at 8 p.m.

The Class of 2022 will take its final bow at graduation on Thursday, May 26, at 8 p.m. in the Yellow Springs High School gym.

The school will inform parents and students with text notifications and other social media posts.
This year’s commencement speakers are graduating seniors Joaquin Espinosa and Sophia Lawson, will speak on celebrating the years their class has spent together and the uniqueness of both Yellow Springs and of the class of 2022.

Get your News at home,  subscribe to the Yellow Springs News today

Espinosa has attended YS Schools since seventh grade, and upon graduation, will join the U.S. Navy with plans to work in the nuclear field. Lawson has attended YS Schools since elementary school and plans to attend The Ohio State University and major in biochemistry. The two students were chosen to give commencement addresses by the graduation speaker selection committee: Principal Jack Hatert, counselor Dave Smith and district librarian Eli Hurwitz.

A number of seniors earned Latin honors and are graduating with a variety of scholarships and awards.

Honors graduates

Cum laude — Carley Brackney, Devyn Deal, Matthew Duncan, Joaquin Espinosa, Eliza Gilchrist, Kayelin McKenzie-Feltner and Marin Wirrig.

Magna cum laude — Carina Basora, Owen Gustafson, Stella Lieff and Vera Roberts.

Summa cum laude — Hannah Elliott, Delia Hallett, Cameron Harris, Kira Hendrickson, Amelia Hurley, Sophia Lawson, Tahlia Potter, Lilian Rainey, Angelina Smith and Robert Wyatt.

Scholarships and awards

Many YS High School and Greene County Career Center students were recognized at the school’s annual academic awards ceremony held Wednesday, May 18. Announced awards were as follows:

• 50th class reunion scholarship — Stella Lieff, $10,000

• Bulldog Scholarships — Delia Hallett and Angie Smith, $500

• Chris Rainey Memorial Scholarship — Sophia Lawson, $1,000

• Chris Sparks Social Justice Award — Malaya Booth, $500

• Connect to Success Scholarship — Devyn Deal, $2,500

• Darryl Dewer Scholarship — Angie Smith, $500

• Edwin Foos Scholarships — Cameron Harris, $2,000; Eliza Gilchrist and Sophia Lawson, $1,500; Yanne Gilley, $1,000

• Eric Smith CodeDog Scholarship — Stella Lieff, $550

• GEM Scholarships — Zander Little, Rosemary Burmester and Owen Gustafson, $900

• Howard Kahoe/Dud Scott Scholarships — Stella Lieff, $1,000

• Odd Fellows Tim Rogers Scholarship — Dorian Campbell-Himes, $3,000

• Odd Fellows Citizenship and Service Award — Tahlia Potter, $2,000

• Odd Fellows Personal Excellence Award — Owen Gustafson, $2,000

• James McKee Scholarships — Angie Smith and Kayelin McKenzie-Feltner, $1,000

• Karen McKee Community Service — Malaya Booth, $3,000

• Lisa Goldberg YS Arts Scholarships — Dorian Campbell-Himes and Malaya Booth, $600; Rylee McKenzie-Feltner, $200; Stella Lieff, $100

• Martha Dell Cadow and Warren Dell Scholarships — Angie Smith and Cameron Harris, $500

• Simply Women Ohio Leadership in Athletics Award — Sophia Lawson, $500

• Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Yellow Springs Annual Scholarship — Hans Smith, $1,500

• Virginia Willey Endowment, senior project — Jayla Fodal, $500

• YS Chamber of Commerce Scholarship — Malaya Booth, $1,000

• Yellow Springs Educational Association Scholarships — Marissa Goodman and Dezmond Wilson, $500

• YSHS History Scholarship — Jayla Fodal, $500

• YSHS Theatre Arts Association Scholarships — Sophia Lawson, Vera Roberts and Rosemary Burmester, $500

• YSHS Gay Straight Alliance Scholarships — Delia Hallett and Stella Lieff, $500

• Greene County Youth Activity Fund Scholarships — Sophia Lawson and Malaya Booth, $750

• John Gudgel Scholarship — Aaliyah Longshaw, $750

• 365 Project Young People of Color Award — Malaya Booth, $1,000

• Kay Corbin Memorial Scholarship — Delia Hallett, $5,016

• YSCF Youth Philanthropy Award — Malaya Booth, $300 to charity of her choice

• Jerry Whalen Scholarship — De’Andre Cowen, $1,000

• Fairborn Art Association Award — Stella Lieff, $1,000

• Delta Sigma Theta — Angie Smith, $3,000

• Bausch & Lomb Science Award — Oliver Bahn

• Honda/OSU STEM Award — Cheyan Sundell-Turner

• Rensselaer Medal — Tallis Onfroy-Curley

• National Merit Finalists — Delia Hallet and Amelia Hurley

• Shirley Mullins Endowment Fund Scholarships — Carley Brackney, Kinu Shope, Dorian Campbell-Himes and Bobby Wyatt, $350

The YS News congratulates each and every one of the graduating seniors — and as always, Go Bulldogs!

Topics: ,

One Response to “Celebrate YSHS Class of ’22”

  1. Rich Taylor says:

    Congratulations grads! Wishing you all the best in your future endeavors!

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :