Subscribe Anywhere
A robust turnout was reported by election officials on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 5, when villagers and Miami Township residents for the first time voted at Antioch University Midwest. Villagers voted on candidates for Village Council and school board, and village and township voters weighed in on Miami Township trustees. (Photo by Megan Bachman)

Ohio's 2022 primary election is Tuesday, May 3. Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m. On the ballot are a host of candidates vying for U.S. Senate and House seats, as well as Ohio Governor and numerous local seats. (Photo from the YS News Archives)

2022 Ohio primary ballot breakdown

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 2022 Ohio primary election is on Tuesday, May 3, with polls open 6:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.

All Yellow Springs voters living in precincts 440, 441, 442 and 443, and Miami Township residents living in precinct 455, will vote at Antioch University Midwest’s multipurpose room. Antioch University Midwest is located at 900 Dayton St.,Yellow Springs. 

Precinct 440 consists of most of the north side of town, and Precinct 441 includes the western part of Yellow Springs. Precinct 442 consists of much of the central areas of the village and downtown. Precinct 443 includes the south end of Yellow Springs. Precinct 456 includes the western portion of Miami Township that surrounds Yellow Springs. 

Voters in Miami Township Precinct 455, which includes the eastern part of the township, will vote at the Cedar Land Event Center at 200 Parkview Ln., Cedarville. 

Yellow Springs and Miami Township residents will vote for the following ballot items: 


Democrats John Cranley, a former mayor of Cincinnati, and Nan Whaley, the outgoing mayor of Dayton, are vying to be the Democratic candidate for governor in the November general election.

On the Republican ballot, incumbent DeWine is being challenged by three candidates: Ron Hood, a former state representative from Ashville, Ohio; Jim Renacci, an accountant, former member of the U.S. Congress and former council member and two-time mayor of Wadsworth, Ohio; and Joe Blystone, a farmer and business owner from East Liverpool, Ohio, is running as a “constitutional conservative.”

Attorney General

Attorney General candidates in both elections will be running unopposed. 
Running as the Democratic candidate for Attorney General is Jeffrey A. Crossman. 
On the Republican ballot is incumbent Dave Yost. 

Ohio Auditor of State 

State auditor race candidates will run unopposed in their respective races. 

Taylor Sagginton is the Democratic candidate; incumbent Keith Faber is the Republican candidate. 

Ohio Secretary of State

Chelsea Clark is running unopposed for the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State. 

On the Republican ballot, incumbent Frank LaRose is being challenged by John Adams, a former Ohio state representative from Urbana.

Ohio State Treasurer

On the Democratic ballot Scott Schertzer is running unopposed for treasurer; the Republican ballot includes Robert Sprague, who is also running unopposed. 

Chief Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court

Jennifer Brunner is running for the Democratic nomination; Ohio Supreme Court incumbent Sharon Kennedy is running for the Republican nomination. 

Ohio Supreme Court Justice (2 seats)

Terri Jamison and Marilyn Zayas, are competing for the Democratic nomination. On the Republican ballot are Pat Fischer and Pat DeWine, both of whom are running opposed. 

United States Senate 

Running for U.S. Senate in the Democratic race are Tim Ryan, currently U.S. Representative from Niles, Ohio; Morgan Harper, an attorney and community organizer from Columbus; and Traci TJ Johnson, an IT executive from Columbus.

On the Republican side are Mike Gibbons, a businessman from northeast Ohio; Josh Mandel, former state treasurer; Neil Patel, a businessman from central Ohio; Mark Pukita, an IT entrepreneur from Dublin, Ohio; Jane Timken, an attorney from Cincinnati; JD Vance, an author and venture capitalist from Middletown; and Matt Dolan, an attorney and baseball team part-owner from Cleveland.

U.S. House Ohio 10th District 

The Democratic candidates for the U.S. House 10th District are Jeff Hardenbeck of Dayton, a co-founder of the Interfaith Hospital Network and former health care worker; Baxter Stapleton, a filmmaker who grew up in Centerville and lives in Dayton; Kirk Benjamin, of Kettering; and David Esrati, a Dayton community activist and ad agency owner. 

The Republican candidate for the U.S. House 10th District is incumbent Mike Turner.

Greene County Judge Seats

No Democratic candidate.  

On the Republican side, Mary Kate Huffman, Ronald C. Lewis and Mike Tucker, are each running for separate judge seats on the 2nd District Court of Appeals. Adolfo A. Tornichio is running for common pleas court judge; Amy Lewis for common pleas juvenile division court judge.

Greene County Commissioner 

No Democratic candidate. 

Incumbent Dick Gould is the Republican candidate. 

Greene County Auditor 

No Democratic candidate. 

David A. Graham is the Republican candidate. 

Greene County Sheriff

No Democratic candidate.

Scott K. Anger is the Republican candidate.

Precinct 440 Central Committee 

Two local residents, Lindie Keeton and Shonda Sneed are running for Precinct 440 captain seat. 

Topics: ,

No comments yet for this article.

The Yellow Springs News encourages respectful discussion of this article.
You must to post a comment.

Don't have a login? Register for a free account.


Heat & air quality advisory is in effect; emergency cooling centers established. | CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :