Submit your thoughts as a graduating senior

High school students earn honors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Yellow Springs High School honored a number of students at its annual National Honor Society scholarship awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 14. The students received their awards after hearing from speaker Kathy Kralovic, vice president of marketing for Cox Ohio Publishing, which owns the Dayton Daily News, Springfield News-Sun, one other daily and eight weeklies in southwest Ohio. Kralovic (Hart) is a native of Yellow Springs and now resides in Oakwood.

Valedictorian Kyle Buchwalder and salutatorian Megan Kaplon both received a National Honor Society Certificate of Merit, and Kaplon was also named a National Merit Commended Student.

Kyle Buchwalder received the $2,000 Bent Biology Scholarship, and Max Buchwalder received the Foos Scholarship for $4,900. Andrew Stratton won the Yellow Springs Instrument Company Scholarship for $10,000.

Lara Donnelly was named a National Merit Scholarship finalist, and she also received the National Council of Teachers of English Award. Peter Keahey was named a National Achievement Scholarship student and he also received the Anonymous Scholarship for $1,000.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association Archie Griffin Sportsman Awards went to Miriam Barcus and Todd Sheets.

Inducted as new members of the National Honor Society this year were seniors Lara Donnelly, Danielle Doubt, Lydia Stutzman and Ellen Swisher; and juniors Olivia Chen, Ryder Comstock, Max Fleishman, Leslie Holland, Eric Rudolf and Amelia Shaw. Continuing members of the National Honor Society are Miriam Barcus, Kyle Buchwalder, Max Buchwalder, Meg Hild, Megan Kaplon, Zac Katz-Stein, Peter Keahey, and Andrew Stratton.

The seniors receiving an honors diploma are Ben Adams, Miriam Barcus, Kyle Buchwalder, Max Buchwalder, Lara Donnelly, Danielle Doubt, Emile Fleming, Claire Harworth, Meg Hild, Megan Kaplon, Zac Katz-Stein, Peter Keahey, Peter Lovering, Todd Sheets, Andrew Stratton, Lydia Stutzman, Ellen Swisher, and Alex Turner.

The year’s academic letter winners were, for the ninth grade, Nathan Auten, Alexandra Beer, Allison Berry, Mariah Clark, Elliot Cromer, Taylor Ennis, Nichole Fulton, Elizabeth Gonder, Megan Hammond, Nadia Kasparek, Hannah Kumbusky, Quinn Leventhal, Kelly Miller, Sarah Rehm, Zebedee Reichert, Louisa Rich, Martin Scherr, Nicky Sontag, Will Turner, Anne Weigand, Lauren Westendorf, Tiffany Wilson and Adam Zaremsky.

Tenth grade letter winners were Dylan Amlin, Olivia Byrnes, Lucas Donnell, Eric Fang, Belle-Pilar Fleming, Jacob Kintner, Marlee Layh, John Michael Malone, Shelley Murphy, Alexis Onfroy, Birch Robinson-Hubbuch, and Maiya Thornton-Hodge.

Eleventh grade letter winners were Olivia Chen, Ryder Comstock, Max Fleishman, Leslie Holland, Laura Hyde, Amelia Shaw, Claire Triplett, and Rachel Trumbull.

Academic letter winners for the 12th grade were Benjamin Adams, Benjamin Armstrong, Miram Barcus, Max Buchwalder, Lara Donnelly, Danielle Doubt, Meg Hild, Zac Katz-Stein, Peter Keahey, Summer McKee, Todd Sheets, Andrew Stratton and Ellen Swisher.

Four students were commended as 2008 Scholastic Art Awards recipients. For the Regional Scholastic Art Contest, Barbara Jewell won the silver award for photography, Lydia Stutzman won a silver award for sculpture, and Zane Reichert and Eric Rudolf won a gold award for video animation.
The high school also recognized the Ohio Governors Youth Art Exhibition Regional winners, including Barbara Jewell, Sarah Acomb and Allie Moran in photography, Erik Bean, Eric Rudolf and Lara Donnelly in film/video and Lydia Stutzman in sculpture.

The state winners of the Ohio Governors Youth Art Exhibit included Bean and Rudolf in film/video and Stutzman in sculpture.

Greene County Career Center honored its Yellow Springs students with many scholarships and awards. Sara Boettcher received the President’s Educational Award, an Award of Merit and also became a member of the National Technical Honor Society. Boettcher also received a Presidential Scholarship from Capital University and the Capital University Grant Award.

Again for the Career Center, Zachary Castle was welcomed to the National Technical Honor Society, of which Eamon Papania is a continuing member. Both Dakota Farley and Alex Turner received Awards of Merit, and Danielle Fulton earned a Wilmington Academic Scholarship. Brianna Williams won a Tech Prep Scholarship from Sinclair Community College.

For independent scholarships, the Bausch and Lomb Honor Science Award and the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute medal both went to Olivia Chen. Tyler Johnson received the School of Advertising Art Scholarship, and the YSHS Metro Buckeye Scholarship went to Lauren Miles.

The Greene County Retired Teachers Scholarship for $1,000 went to Sara Boettcher, and the $1,000 John McConville Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Lauren Miles. Tyler Johnson received the Howard Kahoe/Dud Scott Memorial Scholarship.

The Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Yellow Springs Lodge 279 with the Friendship Rebekah Lodge #873, gave out seven scholarships this year. Ellen Swisher, Miriam Barcus and Lauren Miles each received $650 stipends, while $150 stipends went to Max Buchwalder, Kyle Buchwalder, Andrew Stratton and Jonathan Haller.

The $500 Greene County Youth Activity Fund Scholarship given by the Greene County Sheriff’s Department went to Jonathan Haller. The Planting Peace Scholarship for $200 went to Anna Forster.

The Shirley Mullins Endowment Fund gave out four scholarship awards, which went to James Goodrich ($500), Anna Forster ($350), Peter Keahey ($350) and Yosef Johnson ($250).

Yellow Springs Arts Council gave student art awards to Miche Lite, who won first place ($300), Lydia Stutzman, second place ($200), and Danielle Doubt, third place ($100).

Meg Hild won the Yellow Springs Theatre Award, and Zac Castle won an award from the Tecumseh Land Trust. Ellen Swisher won a $300 American Association of University Women Scholarship, and Andrew Stratton won an Ohio State University Greene County Alumni Scholarship. The Yellow Springs Endowment for the Arts Scholarship for $500 went to Sara Boettcher.

The Mary Jane Bachtell Award for Creative Writing went to seniors Lydia Stutzman and Lara Donnelly and junior Polo Chaikwang.

Topics: , ,

No comments yet for this article.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :