Subscribe Anywhere

The fall sports season concluded last week with an awards night gathering Wednesday, Oct. 30, at the high school. Pictured are members of the boys soccer team, from left, Ben Espinosa, Finn Bledsoe, Cedar Palmer (obscured), Coach Ben VanAusdal and Coach Mark Breza. (Photo by Kathleen Galarza)

November 7, 2019 Bulldog Sports Roundup

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


By Carol Simmons

The Yellow Springs High School and McKinney Middle School fall sports season concluded last week with the schools’ traditional awards night gathering Wednesday, Oct. 30.

This fall, the high school fielded teams in boys and girls soccer, volleyball and boys and girls cross-country. The middle school fielded teams in boys and girls cross-country and seventh- and eighth-grade volleyball.

“We are very honored to have multiple student athletes receive MBC [Metro Buckeye Conference] awards … along with three coaches who received Conference Coach of the Year awards,” Yellow Springs Athletic Director Jeff Eyrich wrote in an email this week.

Each team’s coaching roster presented a Coaches Award, recognizing team-work, reliability and sportsmanship; and a Bulldog Award, honoring athletic achievement and leadership.

Award winners, listed by team, were as follows:

Varsity boys soccer

Coaches Award: Cedar Palmer

Bulldog Award: Vaughn Hendrickson

MBC First Team: Finn Bledsoe, Kaden Bryan and Eli Eyrich

MBC Second Team: Dylon Mapes and Vaughn Hendrickson

MBC Sportsmanship: Ben Espinosa

MBC Coaches Award: Cedar Palmer

District First Team: Kaden Bryan

District Second Team: Eli Eyrich

Senior All-Star Game: Vaughn Hendrickson

Varsity girls soccer

Coaches Award: Haneefah Jones

Bulldog Award: Natalie Galarza

MBC First Team: Aaliyah Longshaw and Tyler Linkhart

MBC Second Team: Tahlia Potter

MBC Sportsmanship: Rebecca Spencer

MBC Coach of the Year: Marcus Rixon

District Second Team: Tahlia Potter

Varsity volleyball

Coaches Award: Olivia Snoddy

Bulldog Award: Aaliyah Longshaw and Annlyn Foster

MBC First Team: Emma Ronnebaum and Tyler Linkhart

MBC Second Team: Angelina Smith

MBC Sportsmanship: Olivia Snoddy

MBC Player of the Year: Tyler Linkhart

MBC Coach of the Year: Christine Linkhart

District First Team: Tyler Linkhart

District Honorable Mention:

Emma Ronnebaum

Senior All-Star Game: Tyler Linkhart

YSHS boys cross-country

Coaches Award: Rilo Oberg

Bulldog Award: JP Anderson

MBC Sportsmanship: Griffin Roberts

YSHS girls cross-country

Coaches Award: Josie DeWine

Bulldog Award: Cheyan Sundell-Turner

MBC First Team: Josie DeWine, Avery Reeder and Cheyan Sundell-Turner

MBC Second Team: Evelyn Potter

MBC Sportsmanship: Ivy Tebbe

MBC Coach of the Year: Isabelle Dierauer

JV Boys soccer

Coaches Award: Krishan Miller

Bulldog Award: Jason Knemeyer

JV volleyball

Coaches Award: Chanel Phillips

Bulldog Award: Corinne Totty and Vivian Bryan

McKinney boys cross-country

Coaches Award: Jia Sundell-Turner

Bulldog Award: Isaac Grushon

McKinney Girls Cross-Country

Bulldog Award: Tiger Collins

Seventh-grade volleyball

Coaches Award: Alayna Hamilton

Bulldog Award: Lili Herzog

Eighth-grade volleyball

Coaches Award: Violet Babb

Bulldog Award: Mya Murchie

Topics: , ,

Comments are closed for this article.


Heat & air quality advisory is in effect; emergency cooling centers established. | CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :