Submit your thoughts as a graduating senior

Special primary election to be held Aug. 2

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Voters in Yellow Springs — located in the 10th District comprising the 441, 442 and 443 precincts — will help decide election outcomes in special primaries on Tuesday, Aug. 2.

The special election is expected to cost taxpayers around $20 million. The  primary had to be scheduled in August  because of ongoing legal disputes over the redrawing of Ohio district voting maps.

On May 27, a 2–1 federal court order led by two Trump appointed judges struck down a ruling made by the Ohio State Supreme Court that found that the Ohio Redistricting Commission’s fifth attempt at a new set of maps was unconstitutionally gerrymandered to favor Republicans. Without a validated map, offices of the Ohio House, Ohio Senate and state central committees did not appear on the May 3 primary ballot.

Get your News at home,  subscribe to the Yellow Springs News today

Winners of Tuesday’s primary will be added to the Nov. 8 general election day ballot. However, on July 19, The Columbus Dispatch reported that the Ohio State Supreme Court struck down maps used in the May 3 primary, determining that the districts drawn “violate anti-gerrymandering rules in the state Constitution.” While this ruling has implications for statewide 2024 elections, the Dispatch also reported that “the map struck down by the Ohio Supreme Court will be used in the November elections, because it was used in the May primary.”

Winners of Tuesday’s primary will be added to the Nov. 8 general election day ballot.

The following offices are included on the Aug. 2 ballot:

Ohio State Central Committees

Voters will elect two members of the Democrat and Republican party, one man and one woman as stipulated by Ohio state law, who will represent the 10th district on both the Democrat and Republican Ohio State Central Committees. There are no available slots for people who identify as non-binary.

Members of the Ohio State Central Committee are elected to four-year terms. Some of the responsibilities of the central committee include representing their assigned districts on a statewide level at meetings, candidate endorsements, electing the state party chair and appointing representatives to serve on the Democratic National Committee.

Ohio State Representative

One state representative, either a Democrat or Republican, must live in the district that they represent, and is elected every two years. Representatives are civically engaged locally and attend meetings and events in their districts. They usually advocate for solutions to various issues on behalf of their constituents through the state legislative process, which can include creating state laws and serving on various committees.

The following candidates are on the Aug. 2 ballot.


For Member of State Central
Committee, Man

Vote for one:
Seth Flora
Shawn E. Jackson
Daniel Saks
David M. Farrell

Member of State Central
Committee, Woman

Vote for one:
Sarah Freemantle

For Ohio State Representative,
71st District:

James Harvey Duffee


For Member of State Central Committee, Man

Vote for one:
Steve Austria
Mark S. Johnson

For Member of State Central Committee, Woman

Vote for one:
Laura A. Rosenberger

For State Representative,
71st District::

Bill Dean, an incumbent first elected to the House in 2016. 

Early voting

Voters still can opt for voting at the Greene County Board of Elections headquarters at 551 Ledbetter Road in Xenia. Hours for early voting are:

• July 28–July 29: 8 a.m.–7.p.m.
• July 30, 8 a.m.–4 p.m.
• July 31, 1 p.m.–5 p.m.
• Aug. 1, 8 a.m.–4 p.m.

Polling Locations

All village voters living in precincts 440, 441, 442 and 443, and Miami Township residents living in precinct 456, will vote at Antioch University Midwest’s multipurpose room. Antioch University Midwest is located at 900 Dayton St.,Yellow Springs.

Voters in Miami Township precinct 455, which includes the eastern part of the township, will vote at the Cedar Land Event Center, 200 Parkview Lane, Cedarville. Voting times and dates remain the same as in recent years. Polls will be open on Tuesday, Aug. 2, from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Topics: , ,

No comments yet for this article.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :